Centerfield

A report states that Amaro is being “very aggressive” in trying to sign a center fielder.  I suppose that is good, but I hope they are not so aggressive that they go crazy with a bad contract. I’ll say it again, I am not for any Upton signing. I’d prefer Swisher.

Speaking of centerfield, Torii Hunter’s agent has talked to the Phillies, among other teams. He’d be a good signing for the right price. Hunter and his agent are looking for a multi-year deal.  I would not go beyond two years.

Ken Rosenthal is also saying that the Phillies have interest in Youkilis. This is interesting considering they are playing Galvis at third in the Caribbean. If they actually do have interest in Youkilis, I wonder if that is just as a backup plan? Could be a relative expensive backup plan.

While Amaro has said he prefers a free-agent signing to a trade, David Murphy of the Daily News thinks a trade my be the way to go. I guess it all depends. They do have minor-league pitching depth, so maybe one of those guys can be spared.

This entry was posted by theyellowseats.

Leave a Reply

