No Hall for You

As you may know, nobody was elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame this year, which really surprised me. While there may have been no big-time players up for elections (besides those associated with PEDs), I still was surprised.  You can see the final tallies here. Craig Biggio came the closest with 68%. I really can’t figure out why Mike Piazza didn’t get in either. He didn’t even break 60%.

Of course the big debate out there is over whether players associated with PEDs should be elected. I’ve already written on this topic. Yahoo! Sports has a good article with a wide range of opinions including players.

You can also easily find those who criticize the voters and say that the voting process should be changed. Matt Gelb of the Inquirer makes a the good point that this could hurt the Hall as the yearly induction ceremony brings in a lot of money, and now there will a lot fewer people in attendance. Not having any inductees is not unprecedented  however. It has happened seven other times, the last being in 1996. I disagree with Gelb, however, when he stresses that the Hall is just a museum. I think it is more than that. He also thinks the Steroid Era should be treated the same as the Dead Ball Era, just a part of history. I really don’t think the logic is solid there. The players of the earlier era were not cheating to make the ball less explosive, they just happened to play during that time.

As I’ve said already, I don’t think you can induct those who tested positive for PEDs or who were proven to have taken PEDs in other ways, at least not now. To his credit, Mark McGwire has come clean and even stated that he accepts he may never be in the Hall:

“It’s a mistake that I have to live with for the rest of my life. I have to deal with never, ever getting into the Hall of Fame. I totally understand and totally respect their opinion and I will never, ever push it. That is the way it’s going to be and I can live with that.

It would be really difficult to vote in a guy known to be a PED user when someone else may have been clean, on the bubble, and not get in. Tom Verducci of Sports Illustrated has written an excellent article about why he would never vote in a known PED user. You should read it if you have the time. He takes on the popular arguments made in favor of voting for PED users and argues against each one.  Well written, you can read it here. 

 

This entry was posted by theyellowseats.

Leave a Reply

